Hattingdon gets a surprise at the Opera

Hello there everyone. It’s me Hattingdon. Do I have a story for you.

Before my ski trip . . . by the way I can’t believe Vivian showed you those old pictures of me in my winter hats. My mane was an absolute MESS.

Anyway, I stopped by to see my cousins — the Greys — in California. While I was there I just had to go to the Opera.

When in town I go to the Opera in LA. I have a bit of a crush on Placido Domingo who does something or other there.

But I was in the the Bay Area and San Francisco Opera is divine. Plus they were staging Aida.

I looked absolutely fabulous in my Opera hat. See.

You don’t have to worry about my blocking anyone’s view. Did you know that traditionally Opera hats like the one I am wearing are collapsible?

Here I am when I arrived.

Hattingdon goes to the Opera. Arrival. © Vivian Grant Farrell.
Hattingdon goes to the Opera. Arrival. © Vivian Grant Farrell.

Here I am during Intermission.

Hattingdon goes to the Opera. Intermission. © Vivian Grant Farrell.
Hattingdon goes to the Opera. Intermission. © Vivian Grant Farrell.

Here I am during the performance. Oops. Forgot to collapse my hat. Never mind.

Hattingdon goes to the Opera. During the performance. © Vivian Grant Farrell.
Hattingdon goes to the Opera. During the performance. © Vivian Grant Farrell.

Wait. Look. Who’s that I see? It simply can’t be! Snort. It is. It’s Marcus!

Marcus Hattingdon, as he appears in Aida. © Vivian Grant Farrell.
Marcus Hattingdon, as he appears in Aida. © Vivian Grant Farrell.

Marcus is one of my cousins, the Greys. No one really knows what they really do out in California. All I’ve ever heard is they are heavily into music or entertainment or something.

Yes indeed that’s him alright. See. Here’s what he normally looks like.

Marcus Hattingdon. © Vivian Grant Farrell.
Marcus Hattingdon. © Vivian Grant Farrell.

Oh what a night!

See you later my friends.

Hattingdon's signature.

2 thoughts on “Hattingdon gets a surprise at the Opera”

  1. Love the opera glasses. I’m sure she was a standout at the opera, even in the audience. And, of course, Marcus will certainly fit in with the pageantry of the procession in Aida. Sounds like a grand night at the Opera! Thanks for sharing.

    Like

    1. Hello Alice my dear. What a darling you are to comment. I naturally concur with you on all points, especially that I was a standout. Oh, and speaking of Marcus he got the surprise of his life when I went backstage and grabbed that headdress by the snake and snatched it off his head to prove it really was him. He forgave me my little moment of exuberance and took me to a local feedbag for a very nice nosh up afterwards. We are family after all. Family connections are always worth maintaining.

      Like

Leave a Reply

