Hattingdon looks as bright as Rio in a cool scarf and fashionably large Olympic inspired shades

Last Updated 8/5 2:15 am.

Hattingdon loves the Olympics and just had to get into the spirit of things.

Instead of sporting the games’ iconic rings on a hat Hattingdon decided to wear a cool scarf and some fashionably large Olympic inspired shades.

Just for fun. For obvious reasons it’s not for sale.

UPDATE

After posting the original design I had a flurry of emails saying you think the design looks strange because the lenses are not dark enough. I see what you mean. What do you think of this? I have gone as dark as I can and still be able to make out the black ring. Oh, you didn’t like the earbob so nixed it.

Olympia Hattingdon 2106 Updated. © Vivian Grant Farrell.
Olympia Hattingdon 2106 Updated. © Vivian Grant Farrell.

Here are what some of the emails said:

“Nice try but a bit tragic.”

“I want to like it because I think this horse is truly cute but nah, not feeling this”.

“Just strange”.

“Nope. Don’t like it . . . at all. Nice job on the rings tho. Shoulda stopped there.” “I don’t know how you made something so cute look so weird but you did”.

And those who liked it.

“I think Olympia rocks. Yes! Love her”.

“I can see why you can’t sell it but if you could I would def get this and wear it all thru the O’s”.

“Why are people being so mean I think it’s cute. But I don’t think I would buy this one for myself”.


These statements are all by friends and colleagues who except for dear Jane never “like” anything for us or leave a comment. Are your friends like that too? Sigh. Let’s change the subject. How about a bit of “rings” history?


STORY OF THE RINGS

Do you know the story behind the Olympic rings?

The Olympic website tells us:

“The Olympic symbol consists of five interlaced rings of equal dimensions, used alone, in one or in five different colours, which are, from left to right, blue, yellow, black, green and red. The Olympic symbol (the Olympic rings) expresses the activity of the Olympic Movement and represents the union of the five continents and the meeting of athletes from throughout the world at the Olympic Games.

“But watch out, it is wrong to say that each of the colours corresponds to a certain continent!

In fact, when Pierre de Coubertin created the Rings in 1913, the five colours combined with the white background represented the colours of the flags of all nations at that time, without exception”.

Who can use the Olympic rings? I believe we comply. But maybe only just!

See you again soon.

Vivian's first name written out.

P.S. I have a surprise for you. Couldn’t sleep so got up and made a new Olympic hat. It’s quequed up for tomorrow morning. Night night!

Leave a Reply

